Does sugar get old?

Even though the sugar gets dry and hard, it is not harmful and is still safe to consume. There is nothing in sugar that goes bad in a traditional sense. Brown sugar will harden over time, but is still edible if softened. The shelf life of powdered and granulated sugar is indefinite.