What is the definition of a predicate adjective?

A predicate adjective describes the subject. The dog was smelly and wet. Smelly and wet describe the subject, but are in the predicate of the sentence. Adjectives describe nouns. The dog is being described in the predicate. Interesting enough the last sentence is a predicate adverb.