What's the difference between red potatoes and white potatoes?

The main difference between red and white potatoes is that red potatoes are light red and are less starchy and more sugary whereas white potatoes are the brown color-skinned potatoes that are starchy. Red potatoes are medium in size and they are better in salads, chowders, and soups.