Where did shish kabobs originate?

They are thought to have originated in Turkey when soldiers used to grill chunks of freshly hunted animals skewered on swords over open-field fires. This origin is backed up by a Turkish script of Kyssa-I Yusuf in 1377 and is now the oldest known source where kebab is stated as a food item