What happens if dogs eat cat food?

Because cats are carnivores and dogs are mainly omnivores, dogs would lack nutritional requirements from cat food. Eating cat food may lead to vomiting and diarrhea, but this can vary from dog to dog. If your dog exhibits signs of intestinal discomfort after eating cat food, call your veterinarian.