How long does it take to microwave sweet potatoes?

To microwave a sweet potato, first prick some holes with your fork to let the steam out. Now, microwave for 5 minutes, then start checking the tenderness by seeing if you can insert a paring knife all the way to the middle of the potato. If not, microwave in 30-second increments until done.