What is an easy rider?

The name comes from a movie called Easy Rider, which is an American countercultural film, released in 1969. The story is that, Hippie drug dealers Wyatt and Billy, are en route to New Orleans for Mardi Gras, but in reality they are on an journey in search of freedom and some meaning in life.