Why do people belch?

Burping is a way body expells excess air from your upper digestive tract. This is usually caused by swallowing excess air if you eat or drink too fast, talk while you eat, chew gum or suck on hard candies, drink carbonated beverages or smoke. Some people swallow air even when not eating or drinking.