What does the fortune enchantment do in minecraft?

The Fortune enchantment increases the block drops from mining. For example, with the Fortune enchantment you will have a better chance of getting flint from gravel or an apple from a tree. You can add the Fortune enchantment to any pickaxe, shovel or axe.

---

Fortune is an enchantment applied to mining and digging tools that increases the number and/or chances of specific item drops. It does not increase experience drops.