Does peppermint keep mosquitoes away?

Peppermint essential oil is a natural deterrent against mosquitoes and flying insects. Use peppermint oil alone or in a homemade insect spray to effectively repel mosquitoes, gnats and horseflies. Bugs may not like peppermint oil, but kids and adults usually enjoy its fresh, energizing scent.