What's the difference between biweekly and semi monthly?

The difference between a semimonthly and a biweekly payroll is that the semimonthly one is paid 24 times per year, and the biweekly one is paid 26 times per year. A semimonthly payroll is paid twice a month, usually on the 15th and last days of the month.