Are orange peels edible?

The white inner portion of an orange, known as the pith, is bitter. Therefore, eating the entire orange peel is undesirable. However, the outer peel may be scraped off, creating zest, which is used to provide orange aroma and flavor in various dishes. Zest is treated as spice, not eaten on its own.