Are man o' war stings deadly?

While the man o' war's sting is rarely deadly to people, it packs a painful punch and causes welts on exposed skin. They are covered in venom-filled nematocysts used to paralyze and kill fish and other small creatures. For humans, a man-of-war sting is excruciatingly painful but rarely deadly.