Is it possible to travel faster than the speed of light?

If a charged particle is launched at nearly the speed of light toward a transparent medium-for example glass- and light is also launched likewise then yes, the light will slow while the charged particle continues to move at it's prior speed causing what is called trinkoff light-visible as blue light