What was the first sea animal?

Earth's first sea animal was the ocean-drifting comb jelly, according to a new find that has shocked scientists who didn't imagine the earliest critter could be so complex. The mystery of the first animal denizen of the planet can only be inferred from fossils and by studying related animals today.