How do you prune a palm tree?

Begin at the bottom of the foliage and look for dead, dying or broken fronds. Use your pruning gear to remove dead or broken fronds from the trunk. Cut each frond at least 2 inches (5.08 cm) from the trunk. Cutting too close to the trunk can damage the tree.