Why do horseflies bite you?

Horseflies must bite large animals, including horses, cattle, dogs, and humans, as part of their life cycle. Only female horseflies bite, as males do not have the appropriate mouthparts. Females need to drink blood to support egg production.

---

Horseflies bite to ingest blood which is rich in protein. The protein is needed to develop their fertilized eggs. Only females need to bite since the males don’t produce eggs.