How many u. s. states are landlocked?

Twenty seven states and Washington DC in the United States are landlocked. Sixteen and the District of Columbia are singly landlocked, meaning you only need to travel through one other state to a body of water. Ten are doubly landlocked and only one - Nebraska - is triply landlocked.