What is a root beer?

Root beer is a sweet North American soft drink, traditionally made using the root bark of the sassafras tree, Sassafras albidum, or the vine of Smilax ornata, as the primary flavor. Root beer may be alcoholic or non-alcoholic, most often non-alcoholic.