What's the difference between muskmelon and cantaloupe?

The cantaloupe is a melon that is a variety of the muskmelon species (Cucumis melo) from the family Cucurbitaceae. Originally, cantaloupe referred only to the non-netted, orange-fleshed melons of Europe, but today cantaloupe may refer to any orange-fleshed melon of the species.