What was the first world record?

The idea for a book of records begins in the early 1950s when Sir Hugh Beaver, Managing Director of the Guinness Brewery, attends a shooting party in County Wexford. There, he and his hosts argue about the fastest game bird in Europe, and fail to find an answer in any reference book.