Tell me what happened to the edmund fitzgerald?

According to Wikipedia, Edmund Fitzgerald was caught in a severe storm on Lake Superior, with near hurricane-force winds and waves up to 35 feet high. Edmund Fitzgerald suddenly sank in Canadian waters 530 feet deep, about 17 miles from Whitefish Bay.