Why is deadpool named deadpool?

According to bustle.com, illustrator Rob Liefeld and writer Fabian Nicieza, credited as the inventors of Deadpool, decided to give Deadpool his name because of the character's resemblance to DC's Deathstroke, another comic book villain.