Who had the most money in history?

Emperor Augustus Caesar. According to Stanford history professor Ian Morris, Augustus at one point held personal wealth equivalent to one-fifth of his empire’s economy. That fortune would be the equivalent of about $4.6 trillion in 2014. For a while, Augustus personally owned all of Egypt.