What is quantum loop theory?

Quantum loop theory presumes that gravity is not a force, but a property of the geometry of spacetime. Space and time are quantized, and space is a woven fabric of Planck-scale loops called spin networks. Quantum loop theory competes with string theory to explain quantum gravity.