Where do the forks go?

the plate should be one inch from the edge of the table. The forks go on the left, and the knives go on the right, with the sharp side of the knife pointed towards the plate. Water or wine glasses go just above the knife. For a more formal setting, the bread plate goes to the left of the fork.