When did the comic book shazaam come out?

Whiz Comics #2 cover-dated Feb. 1940 was published in late 1939. The comic's lead feature introduced audiences to Billy Batson, an orphaned 12-year-old boy who, by speaking the name of the ancient wizard Shazam, is struck by a magic lightning bolt turning him into the adult superhero Captain Marvel.