Why is ketchup named ketchup?

Ketchup comes from the Hokkien Chinese word, kê-tsiap, the name of a sauce derived from fermented fish. It is believed that traders brought fish sauce from Vietnam to southeastern China and from there it spread with traders to Europe and the rest of the world.