Why did the united states boycott the nineteen eighty olympics?

The 1980 Summer Olympics boycott was just one part of a number of actions initiated by the United States to protest against the Soviet invasion of of the sovereign nation Afghanistan

---

In 1980, the United States led a boycott of the Summer Olympic Games in Moscow to protest the late 1979 Soviet invasion of Afghanistan. In total, 65 nations refused to participate in the games, whereas 80 countries sent athletes to compete.