What is canon mean?

The noun canon, with two n's, can refer to a few things, including a code of laws, an established principle, a group of exemplary literary works, and the works of a writer that are accepted as authentic. A cannon, with three n's, mainly refers to a large weapon that fires heavy projectiles.