What is carnival?

A carnival is a season or festival of merrymaking before Lent. A traveling enterprise offering amusements.

---

A period of public revelry at a regular time annually, typically during the week before Lent in Roman Catholic countries, involving processions, music, dancing, & the use of masquerade. May also reference a public event or celebration, typically held outdoors & offering entertainment & exhibitions.