Why do your fingers get wrinkly in water?

The most recently proposed theory is that skin wrinkling allows for better ability to grip objects with wet fingers. By creating "treads" similar to tire treads, the fingers have been shown to grasp wet objects better once the wrinkling response has occurred.

---

Laboratory tests confirmed a theory that wrinkly fingers improve our grip on wet or submerged objects, working to channel away the water like the rain treads in car tires. ... In fact, the distinctive wrinkling is caused by blood vessels constricting below the skin.