What animal is crash bandicoot?

Crash Bandicoot is an eastern barred bandicoot who was genetically enhanced by the series' main antagonist Doctor Neo Cortex. The eastern barred bandicoot is a nocturnal, rabbit-sized marsupial endemic to southeastern Australia, being native to the island of Tasmania and mainland Victoria