What does first second and third degree murder mean?

First degree generally implies planning plus intent. Second degree generally implies no planning, but intent exists. Only Florida, Minnesota and Pennsylvania have third degree, and that is generally, one knows a behavior or activity to be deadly but goes ahead and does it anyway and someone dies.