What does it mean to be a cheese?

Being a cheese is putting on a show of sorts, similar to laying it on thick or hamming it up.

---

To be a cheese is to be A Greenbay Packers Fan, Someone who likes to be in the spotlight, such as stage performers or stand up comedian and a person who likes to have their photograph taken a lot!