What is the name of the preserve bodies of ancient egypt?

Ancient Egyptians preserved the bodies of their dead through the process of embalming, or mummification. Mummies were then placed in wooden cases that were sometimes human-shaped. Higher ranking people placed these wooden cases in a stone sarcophagus for further protection.