Where does a cork come from?

Cork is an impermeable, buoyant material, harvested from the bark of the Cork Oak tree, which is native to southwest Europe and northwest Africa.

---

Cork is the bark of a Cork Oak. If you live in the States, you're most likely familiar with a Beach or Chestnut tree which are both in the same family as a cork oak.