What animals can be used as service animals?

It depends on the state you live in. Most states in the United States recognize dogs as service animals. Some states may recognize monkeys and miniature horses too.

---

Only dogs and horses can be service animals. However, in practical terms, dogs are the only service animals which can be widely employed because of the restrictions on where horses can go and be useful.