Where did the term hunker down come from?

Hunker is probably related to the Old Norse “huka,” to crouch, with relatives in Middle Dutch, Middle Low German and the modern German “hocken,” meaning “to sit on one's hams”; "to squat, crouch," 1720, Scottish, possibly Scandinavian source, cf. Old Norse huka "to crouch," hoka, hokra "to crawl."