Where did new york city get it's nickname the big apple from?

The nickname "The Big Apple", originated in the 1920s in reference to the prizes (or "big apples") rewarded at the many racing courses in and around the City. However, it wasn't officially adopted as the city's nickname until 1971 as the result of a successful ad campaign for tourist attraction.

---

The nickname The Big Apple originated in the 1920s in reference to the prizes or "big apples" rewarded at the many racing courses in and around New York City. However it wasn't officially adopted as the city's nickname until 1971 as the result of a successful ad campaign intended to attract tourists