What happens if lightning strikes water?

When lightning strikes water it stays on the surface of the water rather than penetrating it. Lightning doesn't strike the ocean as much as land, but when it does, it spreads out over the water, which acts as a conductor, hitting boats that are nearby, and electrocute fish that are near the surface.