What's the biggest goliath grouper?

The biggest grouper ever caught and certified as a world record was a 680 pound goliath grouper. The fish was caught on May 20, 1961, off Fernandina Beach Florida, using a Spanish mackerel as bait. This species of grouper is considered endangered today and is protected in the United States.