What do sponges eat?

Most sponges are detritivores -- they eat organic debris particles and microscopic life forms that they filter out of ocean water. They're not picky eaters; whatever the ocean current carries their way is what they feast on. Sponges can digest large particles and tiny organisms for sustenance.