Is awhile one word?

Awhile is an adverb meaning "for a while." "While" is a noun meaning "a portion of time." The two-word form "a while" is used when following a preposition or with the words "ago" or "back" as in "a while ago or a while back. Awhile is used to modify a verb and can replace any usage of "for a while."