How does chance evolve?

Chanse evolves when its Friendship or Happiness level reaches a certain level. When you capture or trade for a wild Chansey, it's Friendship level is set to 70. In order to evolve Chansey, you will need to raise its Friendship level to at least 220 (255 is the max).