Did jonah get swallowed by the whale?

Many Christians interpret the story of Jonah in the Old Testament as an allegory that was never meant to be understood as actual history. In Matthew 12:40-41. Christ compares the experience of Jonah to His own approaching death and resurrection. This is something each person must decide on his own.