How big was the biggest tuna ever caught?

1496 pounds, according to the International Game Fish Association. Ken Fraser landed the world record bluefin tuna on October 26, 1979, fishing with Capt. Eric Samson aboard Lady and Misty out of Port Hood, Nova Scotia.