Why is eggnog so expensive?

Traditional eggnog is made of milk or cream, sugar, raw eggs, one or more alcoholic spirits, and spices, often vanilla or nutmeg and in some recipes, cloves. Cream and vanilla are expensive ingredients, so the beverage costs more than a gallon of plain milk would.