What is the purpose of the appendix in the human body?

Currently there are 2 scientific theories in regards of usefulness of the appendix. Per one the appendix is just a useless remnant from our evolutionary past, while other theory is, that the appendix acts as a storage for good bacteria, to help reboot the digestive system after diarrheal illnesses.

---

While the appendix is not necessary to live, it is known to function as part of the immune system and some research suggests that it could be a harbour for beneficial gut bacteria.