What does e. t. space a. l. mean?

Et al is defined as an abbreviation for the Latin phrase et alia, which means, "and others." An example of et al used as an abbreviation is in the sentence, "The article was written by Smith, Jones, Paul, et al." which means that Smith, Jones, Paul and others wrote the article.